How Long do You Have to Report an Accident in Nebraska?

How Long do You Have to Report an Accident in Nebraska?

Getting into a car accident is scary, even in the most minor fender benders. When you are in an auto accident, you need to know what to do next. Don’t just drive away, that can make things worse. One of the main things the law requires is that you file an accident report. How long do you have to report an accident in Nebraska?

In Nebraska, a driver must report an accident within 10 days from the time of the accident.  In addition, drivers have a legal duty to stop in property damage and personal injury accidents.

Knowing if you need to file a report, the appropriate steps that are crucial after an accident, and what will happen to you if you fail to report an accident are important pieces of information that any responsible driver should know.  Don’t wait until you need this information before you keep reading. 

Do I Need to File a Report?

The first thing is knowing when it is appropriate and required by law to report an accident in the state of Nebraska.  

From the time of the accident, you have 10 days to file a report.  However, you may not need to file a report.  According to Nebraska state law, an accident must be reported if the accident caused physical injuries or death to anyone involved and/or there is $1,000 or more in damage caused by the accident. 

The damage could be to your car, someone else’s care, or public or private property.

How long do you have to file an accident report in Nebraska

Critical Steps After an Auto Accident in Nebraska

There are some critical steps that must be taken after a car accident happens.  Following these steps will make sure that everything goes as smoothly as possible while filing a report or with anything after the accident. 

  • Stop and take a quick survey of the incident and assess for injuries. Leaving the scene of an accident, especially if there are injuries of any kind, is a serious crime under Nebraska law.  Make sure you stop. Call 911 immediately to inform them.   If someone is injured you may offer reasonable aid until the paramedics arrive. 
  • Make sure you cooperate with the police no matter what.  Cooperation will make the process far less painful in the long run.
  • File an accident report.  Do not delay the report.  You have 10 days but the sooner the better in most cases. Waiting could cause you to mix up details and cause more questions.   

What Happens if I Don’t Report an Accident?

If you fail to report an accident what happens really depends on the severity of the accident and resulting injuries. There can be consequences such as fines, jail time, and suspension of your driver’s license to name a few.

Fleeing the scene of an accident or failing to stop and render aid to someone you injured in the accident can be serious crimes. The best thing to do is to follow the laws.  Stop, give aid, and report the accident in the given time frame.

What Happens if I am Injured in a Car Accident in Nebraska?

If you are injured in a car accident, your first priority should be to get medical attention if you need it. While your memory is fresh, be sure to document your injuries.

Under the law in Nebraska, you may be entitled to be paid for your medical expenses and other injuries if they were caused by the other drivers negligence. Even if the other driver did not have insurance, you may be covered by your own insurance policy.

This can be a confusing and complicated process, so we always recommend that you consult with an attorney before accepting any settlement offers.

What Happens if I am Charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

If you are accused of leaving the scene of an accident, this is a very serious allegation. Leaving the scene of a personal injury accident is a felony offense under Nebraska law.

Leaving the scene of a property damage accident is a class 2 misdemeanor if it is a first offense. It has a maximum penalty of up to six months in jail and a $500 fine or both.

Either way, there are potential defenses to these allegations that you would want to discuss with an attorney. If you want to talk to someone now, hit the chat button at the bottom of the screen or just contact us via this form.

Where Do You Get the Nebraska Accident Report Form?

If you look it up online, be careful to only get the form from the official Nebraska state government website. Click here to go the official Nebraska government website.

There you will have the option of either submitting the report online or getting a PDF version of the form.

The form comes with instructions. Here is the link to the PDF form.

Conclusion

Nobody plans to get into a car accident but they happen every day. If you have been in an auto accident, its important to know your legal rights and responsibilities.

If in doubt, check with an expert.

Tim Sopinski

Tim Sopinski is a lawyer that helps people with criminal defense and car accident injury claims. He believes in working hard for his clients and fighting for the best results for them. If you have questions, set up a free consultation or just click on one of the chat buttons.